Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
MY TRAVEL - THE LAND OF OZ
8 mai 2014

Canberra - 11th - 12th march

Canberra is the capital city of Australia. 

 

carte-australie

 • FIRST DAY 

I took my breakfast in front of the Lake Burley Griffin. It is an artificial Lake. This lake is at the heart of the city. 

After that I visited the Australian War Memorial! In this museum we can see the film from Peter Jackson "Over the front : The great war in the air". We can put down a poppy on the war memorial in tribute to men and women who help Australia. The entry is free. 

war memo poppywar memo

 

canberra parliament

 

 

 

Later, I visited the Parliament House. Next to this Parliament we can see the old Parliament. In front of the Parliament House, there is a flag bigger than a bus with two floors ! I assisted at a session oh the Senate in the political platform. The entry is free too. 

 

 

Then, I went to the national Portrait Gallery. There we can find many of portrait from famous people. For example : artists, musicians, comedians, political figures, sporting and crowned heads.

105160-national-portrait-gallery

 

• SECOND DAY 

I made a day trip in the Namadgi National Park. I explored the Australian Alps. I saw some eucalyptus forest, precisely eucalyptus delegatensis commonly know as alpine ash. It was gigantic and fascinating. 

Eucalyptus-delegatensis-alpine-ash 

I made a hike in the Naas Valley or Naas Creek. There are 400 kind of animals : birds, bats, kangaroo, wombats... It always amazing to see animals that we never saw. 

wombatkangaroo

 In the afternoon, I went to old camps of Aborigines : Ngunnawal. There were living in the Canberra region before european arrival. I saw the place where they collected a moth called Bogong. It has a hazelnut taste in Mount Kelly. Then, I went to Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve. There I went back in time in 21 000 years before. I saw the oldest Aborigines spot : Birrigai Rock Shelter. 

namadgi-rock-artbirrigai_rock-96848803-Hanging_Rock_overhang_Canberra

-namadgi-national-park

 

I fall in love of this city. As far as I know Canberra is the most interesting and diverse city that I never saw. 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
MY TRAVEL - THE LAND OF OZ
Publicité
Archives
  • 2014
Publicité